Official opening of freight corridor RFC 10

New freight corridor

The Alpine Western Balkan Corridor (RFC 10) has been operational since 2020. Now it was officially launched during an inauguration event.

What is the RFC 10?

The Alpine Western Balkan Corridor (RFC 10) runs through five countries: Austria, Slovenia, Croatia, Serbia and Bulgaria. The length is 2,114 km of main and 31 km of connecting routes.

From south to north, the route runs from Svilengrad in Bulgaria via Sofia - Belgrade and Zagreb to Zidani most in Slovenia. There, the RFC 10 splits into an eastern route via Maribor and Graz to Wels. The western section runs via Ljubljana and Villach to Salzburg.

Three key topics

The launching event in Ljubljana was not only the symbolic start of the corridor. Important contents were also discussed in three panels:

On the one hand, it was about smart capacity management within the framework of the "Time-table Redesign" (TTR) project, which is intended to strengthen the competitiveness of rail transport.
In addition, the participants discussed measures to reduce border waiting times. The topic of the "New Silk Road" and the resulting new connections with Turkey, Greece, the Middle East and China were also discussed.

More goods by rail

"Our goal is to make freight transport more attractive for our customers through coordinated international cooperation and thus shift more goods from road to rail. Freight Corridor 10 is an important instrument for this," Harald Hotz, AM, President of the Corridor Management Board underlining in his speech.

President of the Corridor Management Board, Harald Hotz, speaking at the launching event